Policy Matters welcomes new board, staff

Policy Matters Ohio - January 9, 2012
For immediate release
Contact Amy Hanauer, 216.361.9801 

Download PDF

Think tank increases capacity, brings in new voices

Policy Matters Ohio, a nonprofit, nonpartisan research center, today announced the appointment of two new directors to its board, Kamla Lewis of Shaker Heights and Renuka Mayadev of Columbus. The think tank also filled two newly created staff positions, bringing its staff to a total of 13, promoted three veteran staffers, and elected a new board chair.

 Kamla Lewis has worked for the city of Shaker Heights since 2001, and brings to the Policy Matters board a deep understanding of the issues facing Ohio cities. Policy Matters will draw on her experience in neighborhood revitalization and economic development, as well as her work on housing and vacant properties with the First Suburbs Consortium. Lewis has degrees from Cambridge University and Princeton.

Renuka Mayadev is the executive director of the Children’s Defense Fund-Ohio. She previously served in the administration of former Ohio Gov. Ted Strickland, focusing on juvenile justice, public safety, and rehabilitation and corrections policy. Mayadev has a J.D. from Georgetown University and a B.A. from Northwestern.

Kalitha Williams has joined Policy Matters as a Columbus-based policy liaison for our asset building project. She has worked for the Ohio Legislative Service Commission, the Ohio House of Representatives, the Columbus Urban League and the Ohio Domestic Violence Network. Williams has a B.A from Denison University and an M.P.A. from Central Michigan University.

Tracy Moavero is now development and communications coordinator in our Cleveland office. She has 20 years experience working on campaigns relating to peace, disarmament and human rights in Geneva, Switzerland, New York City, and Washington D.C. A Cleveland-area native, Moavero graduated from John Carroll University.

Policy Matters also promoted David Rothstein to project director of its asset building project, Wendy Patton to senior project director of the state fiscal project, and Piet van Lier to communications director. In addition, the organization gave its thanks to board members David Bergholz and Blaine Griffin, who left the board, and to Joyce Goldstein who stepped down as board chair. Seth Rosen, vice president of the Communications Workers of America, District 4, was elected the new board chair.

“It’s a privilege to work with such smart, dedicated, insightful colleagues and board members,” said Amy Hanauer, Policy Matters executive director. “Every one of these leaders brings knowledge of communities, passion for economic justice, and ideas on using research to promote a more prosperous, equitable, sustainable and inclusive Ohio,” said Hanauer. “We’re incredibly grateful for their commitment to our work.” 

Print Friendly